***** Indie Books

Leaving aside the quality of my own independently published book (I have soooo lost sight of whether it’s good, bad, indifferent or all of these) I find in my own indie reading that I have come across nothing, so far, to which I would give the accolade of 5 stars. If something I’ve read is truly awful I just don’t review it or *-rate it at all. It seems unkind to give a single star to something the author has laboured over unless one is going to be helpful and go into constructive detais about what’s wrong with it.  And for a * or ** book I just don’t have that kind of time available.

It does, however, seem to me that if indie publishing is going to take off properly and give the traditional publishers a run for their money *and*, crucially, authors a return on their hard work, then producing ***** books is essential. It’s true that not everything the traditional houses produce is either a ***** read, or produced to a ***** standard. But so far they’re still getting it right a lot more often than indie writer-publishers are.

It really surprises me how many indie books I read are repetitive, overwritten, cliched, contain stereotypical characters and over-used plot lines. We can write whatever we want, so why do we seem to be writing flabby pastiches of what everyone else is writing?

Indie writers will continue to be looked down on by those whose work is out with the traditional publishers as long as we produce this kind of work.

So the indie motto needs to become ‘quality first’, yes?

If you have written, or know of, a ***** indie-published book do please let me know about it.

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “***** Indie Books”

  1. Zen Says:

    I think traditionally published books have it better because they’ve got a whole crew of people behind them, whereas self-published books mainly have the author and nobody else. It’s up to the author to play the roles of many people, which can be overwhelming and may put him/her at a disadvantage.

    I have self-published book myself, and while I don’t think it’s all that great, it has maintained a rating of 4.44 stars for a while on Goodreads, so I guess I must have done something right? xD

    • judimoore Says:

      Absolutely, Zeinab. It reminds me irrestibly of the good old bad old days when we girlies had to be twice as good as the men to be considered half as good by the world in general. It is that all over again for indie authors. And this time the men aren’t immune!

      There is editing and marketing expertise out there, but none of us has any money to hire it in. We could form collectives – and I do think there’s mileage in that – but we’re all so busy writing, earning a living and having some kind of family/social life that we don’t have time to (eg) read and make thoughtful comments in detail on others’ work.

      What do others think?

  2. judimoore Says:

    ***** indie book found!

    ‘Dead is the new black’ by Christine DeMaio Rice is about murder in the New York fashion industry. It is feisty, fast-paced and full of interesting information about the world it’s set in. You come to care about the characters who are skillfully drawn (although, as in ‘Ugly Betty’ and’The devil wears Prada’, some of them aren’t very likeable).There is a satisfying conclusion that this reader didn’t see coming (and I can spot most of them at a considerable distance). A ***** book

Leave a Reply

