Event at StonyWords6 last week

It went very well, thank you for asking. I got a chance to scrawl nice things in a ‘flourishing and fanciful*’ fashion in books for which I do take some responsibility.

*Ah, Mrs Ruck-Keene. She was responsible for much. As you do when you’re 15, I was developing a signature.  She wrote, as quoted above, in red, at the top of the first exam paper on which I used that work-in-progress signature (she’d also underlined it twice). She clearly expected me to take this as being A Bad Thing and stop writing my name that way. The effect was, however, exactly what I’d been aiming for so my signature hasn’t changed since. She died a couple of years later. No – I had nothing at all to do with it. I liked her a lot.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

